Myburgh Ravine

Yesterday was a case of ‘Rain stop Hike’…back in the day, when it rained, I would get back into bed but when I got up again, it was clear skies and would be annoyed with myself for not hiking.  When we woke up yesterday morning it was pouring and as a friend fell and injured her ankle badly on an away hike last year, it took her weeks recover and now has a fear for hiking in the rain so cancelled our hike up Platteklip, through Echo and Ash Valley down Constantia Nek.

I hike regardless of the weather.  I’ve even hiked through 4 hailstorms and coupla thunderstorms J I think only a hurricane; cyclone or a tornado would keep me from hiking now J Not even fasting during Ramadaan kept me from hunting for snow in the middle of winter when our Pressie and I hiked to Maclear’s Beacon (the highest peak in Cape Town) where we built a snowman and it snowed as well J Was so funny when other hikers came and asked if they could take pics with our snowman and I wanted to say no, we are taking the snowman with us but said sure, go right ahead. They brought a skottle with them for a braai ^_o clever because of the cold but illegal on the mountain…

Do you wana build a snowman?
Do you wana build a snowman?

Come winter, I will constantly complain about the cold.  Winter is my favourite season, the stormier the better but I can’t stand the cold.

Myburgh Ravine is one of the more beautiful ravines in Cape Town (although all ravines are beautiful) but this one stands out.  It is very similar to Dark Gorge and what make it stands out are the huge boulders and narrow ravine between the mountains which is covered by dark green moss throughout the year as it doesn’t get any sun.

Myburgh Ravine
Myburgh Ravine
Dark Gorge
Dark Gorge

12 of us meet at Constantia Nek before driving to the start of Myburgh at 7am.  You can easily get lost in this area with several lefts and rights before reaching the ravine especially if you haven’t done this hike in over 2 years haha

I’ve done this route a few times in the past, I’ve even lead this hike but when I’m not leading, I don’t take note of the path itself and focus more on the scenery.  This area has become so trampled that the whole place looks like there are several paths and not like Newlands forest where all the paths are clear.  As we posed for a long time taking group photos just past the actual path (which I missed) I became disoriented (which is a totally alien feeling for me) as I didn’t know where the right path was.  If I’ve done a route before, I always know where I’m going or where I need to be but because this part of the forest was so eroded and trampled, it didn’t look familiar to me at all but our Pressie knew the way so no need to fret J

DSC_3105

As this is the shortest hike we’ve done in a very long time, we took our time taking in the scenery, taking photos and posing for many many photos as well J I did not push myself today as I’ve done with previous hikes but geez the sweat!  I never use to sweat like this before until recently and can only blame the humidity on global warming.  I even sweat from my legs these days which is annoying as my pants sticks to me instead of sliding over my skin.  I may have to go back to wearing tights which is way more comfortable and flexible for scrambling sigh

There’s this tree which I have to take a photo of every time I do this route.  It’s utterly fascinating that this tree is growing out the mountain this way J

The Tree
The Tree
Under The Tree
Under The Tree

Not much of a waterfall today but come winter, it will be gushing J Seems the season for Disas (orchids which only bloom for a few weeks in summer) are over too as we didn’t see any but the Proteas are still in full bloom.

Waterfall
Waterfall

After scrambling up the boulders and reach the footpath, I am shocked to see just how eroded the path is since my last hike here.  It’s actually dangerous now and really really have to be careful where you are stepping as the sand is quite loose all the way up.  I don’t normally hold onto vegetation as it can easily come loose and fall but here I had to hold onto the vegetation for fear of sliding back down.  All it takes is one slip…

For the first time, one of the ladies notice a metal plate fixed onto a rock which we have never seen before and the pressie and I get dangerously closer for a better look which stressed out the other ladies (sorry).  The ‘path’ was too narrow for both of us so he had to take the pic for me.  It reads as follows:

‘Look around you,  Can you describe the beauty of this place? This was the very last thing our friend BRANKO saw in his short life; Say hi to him, he would love that…4.12.1995’

commemoration plate
commemoration plate

We reached the top of the ravine and it’s time for a very rowdy breakfast lol  I had a choice of two different (no sugar) coffees today so had from both haha.  A few of us sat away from the group (in the sun) while the rest sat in the shade and boy oh boy were they noisy with laughter lol  I should have taken a video and played it back for them so that they could actually hear how loud they were 😀  Sure sign as to how much they were enjoying each other’s company J

behaved for the pic haha
behaved for the pic haha

We very slowly and very carefully make our way down the very steep and eroded part of the ravine.  The last time I did this hike, someone behind me slipped and fell, I instinctively crouched which probably saved both our lives as I stopped his fall. We could have both fallen down this exposed area.

It’s not often we come back down the same way we go up but the alternative is about 2 hours longer and a short hike was planned for today.

The faster hikers were long gone before the rest of us reached the cars at about 10:30 as we took our time chatting up a storm as well haha

the view :-)
the view 🙂

1948076_10153080821631413_7935718311012776151_n

I started a temp job on Friday so midweek hikes are on hold until further notice.  I have to attend a breakfast wedding next week Sunday so can’t even do a quickie hike up Platties.  I am already suffering from withdrawal symptoms with miniature panic attacks that I will only be able to hike my mountain in 2 weeks!

I need chocolate!

Until my next hike, ciao for now

Myburgh Ravine

3 thoughts on “Myburgh Ravine

Leave a Reply

