Lion’s Head via Wally’s Cave

When it’s not cricket season, I take my older brother hiking.  He and his wife’s lives revolve around their 15 year old son’s cricket so hardly have time to themselves and as he is currently in Malaysia (playing cricket), my brother gets to go hiking EXCEPT, he cancelled on me last night sigh

I did however ask my younger brother and his 6 year old son if they would like to go hiking as well and fortunately, they did not cancel on me.  My nephew did Rhodes contour to Newlands forest with me two years ago so was quite keen on hiking again.

June 2013
June 2013

Told them to dress warmly as it is quite cold in the morning, especially on the mountain and I decided to wear a short sleeve over my long sleeve (big mistake)

We left the house around 6:55 and it was quite misty!  Until we went up Hospital Bend and suddenly, it was all clear skies.  YAY! We would be able to see the views especially since it was their first time.

We checked in with Whatsapp Mountain Tracking and Safety group around 7:15 but not before taking some photos of the sunrise J

Sun rising above the mist
Sun rising above the mist

It was a slow start with my nephew struggling a bit so took many breaks until we took the path up to Wally’s cave.

Start up Lion's Head
Start up Lion’s Head

It was now hot but we were all wearing peak caps and I took off my long sleeve top.  We had several breaks up this path and I didn’t mind as I expected this from newbie hikers J

one of the many breaks
one of the many breaks

I educate my nephew a bit on the little that I know of the fauna and flora and we eventually reach the cave at around 8am.  Many, many, many pics ensued and my brother attempting to capture a photo of me in the air 😛

my bro and nephew in Wally's Cave
my bro and nephew in Wally’s Cave
Weeee! that's me
Weeee! that’s me

We depart the cave and now make our way to the top of Lion’s Head.  My first concern is getting my nephew up the first set of chains but I was worried for nothing as he is quite the natural at climbing.  He barely needed my assistance.  All I had to do was guide his feet.

First set of chains
First set of chains

After this climb, he seemed to be in his element so decided that he would be able to climb the second set of chains with my guidance and he was such a PRO!  Super proud of this kid.  He was in such a hurry now as he gained more and more confidence in himself.  I had to scurry after him all the way up and warned him to slow down all the time.  Even had to remind him to wait on his father occasionally.

Climbing to the second set of chains
Climbing to the second set of chains

One hiker said that she wants a child like my nephew one day who will be able to hike with her.  Another said that she loved that his parents brought him along on the hike and I said that his mother is warm in her bed and that I’m his Aunt J

Waiting for dad at the ladder
Waiting for dad at the ladder

We eventually reached the peak of Lion’s Head at about 9:10 and compulsory pics ensued.  The ‘dangerous’ setting which is not dangerous at all haha

Must take a photo on this spot
Must take a photo on this spot
me bro
me bro

Going down, I decided on the longer safer route (skipping the chains) as I didn’t feel that he would be able to go down safely.  I stress when my 15 year old daughter goes up and down these chains so fortunately for her, I didn’t witness those times haha

It was slow careful descent as my brother started to feel the pain in his knees and the sand is quite slippery on the rocks.

When we got to the gravel path, my nephew was now bored as the excitement of climbing is now over and done with and I am astonished by how well he did!

He wants to tackle Platteklip now as he hasn’t been on Table Mountain yet and said I would take him J

:-)
🙂

The club did Els Ravine today and I missed it yet again as I’ve never done that route but I have no regrets.  I loved hiking with my younger brother and nephew and look forward to doing another hike with him 😀

Until my next hike, ciao for now

Lion’s Head via Wally’s Cave

2 thoughts on “Lion’s Head via Wally’s Cave

Leave a Reply

