Solo Platteklip Hike

The mountain doesn’t care what race you are, what religion you follow (or don’t follow), it doesn’t care what gender or creed you are.  You are free to use the mountain whenever you want so out of respect, please don’t litter.   You may think that 1 little sweet wrapper is nothing but add everything I picked up this morning, it amounts to this…and this was only what was within reach…

end result
end result
bag full
bag full

When you are sitting in your yard, do you just throw you litter on the ground?  Who picks up after you?

I do admit that I always ignored the litter on the mountain and I don’t litter myself, anywhere, but HPHC (my club) decided to start a campaign to clean the mountain and got the idea from them which I hope will take off swiftly.  Even though fruit is organic and biodegradable, it may harm the fynbos as it is alien to the mountain after all.  Some fruit are ok but I don’t know which ones and besides, litter is ugly anyway.

ANYWAY

When I do Platties solo, I normally strive to achieve a new personal best which at this stage is 1h30m…55min up and 35min down but a few weeks ago, I think I may have bruised a ligament in my knee.   I’m not sure what it is as I haven’t been to the doctor and it’s manageable.  Also, I’m paranoid that a doctor will tell me I need an operation and that’s a hell no.  Not because I’m afraid of ops or needles but it could mean that I will be out of action for a while and I don’t want that!  As a result, I decided to hike on my own, at my own pace as to not hold up the club who did Blind Gulley.  I was in no mood for an easy hike as the last two hikes were easy and I couldn’t hike last Sunday as I had family commitments so intended to hike with my daughter on Monday but woke up to a burst geyser and my knee was at its most painful and limping around the house.

Around 7am I stop along Tafelberg Road just before the Cable Car station in order to take these beautiful pictures and video just before sunrise and check in with Mountain Safety and tracking at 7:07am.

sunrise
sunrise

I didn’t give an ETA as I didn’t know how long my hike would take and informed them of my sore knee.  I was wearing a knee guard as a precaution and had enough cash just in case I was forced to take the Cable car down.

When I started noticing the litter, I berated myself that I didn’t bring a packet along to pick up the trash along the way.  I stopped several times to rest my knee and take stunning photos of the mist over the city and the various stages of the sun rising.  I didn’t expect to see Proteas but alas they are still there with most dying out as winter arrives.

off colour Protea
off colour Protea
dead proteas
dead proteas

The weather/temperature was perfect for Platties as there is no shelter from the sun when it’s hot.  Platties is also infamous for being cold wet and windy at the peak regardless of conditions elsewhere but again, perfect conditions J

if the sun gets you...
if the sun gets you…

Seems as though the conservationists has changed some of the paths and a new path is being developed as well along the route.

new path
new path

There weren’t many hikers today but there was a noisy bunch so made sure that I passed them (with sore knee and all) and kept my distance enjoying the serenity except for some reason there was an abundance of noisy crows.  I assume they are crows lol The closer I got to the peak, the bigger the rocks are, the more strain I’m putting on my knee and contemplating turning around but I was ¾ of the way up so persevered.   Just took more and longer breaks.  I eventually reach the peak at about 8:20am and explore a bit, attempting to take pics of the crows?

crow?
crow?

and the (non) views of Camps Bay side.

view of camps bay haha
view of camps bay haha

I decided to take a break above the Platties path with a shear drop as my view 😀  A koesiester and Pumpkin bolla was breakfast and make my way down shortly after when the noisy bunch was about to reach the peak.

breakfast view above the path
breakfast view above the path

At 8:40am I notify Mountain tracking that I’m taking it slow down and picking up litter on my way down.  All I had was those flimsy packets which supermarkets use to separate items.  Not even half way down, this packet was full.  Most hikers thanked me and said that they would be doing the same from now on J  One even asked if I was getting paid x_x really?  You think someone has to be paid to pick up litter?  My standard response became that I was disgusted by the amount of litter coming up that I decided to pick it up on my way down.  I even got a hug.  Fortunately, one hiker had a bigger packet for me which I filled up!  I however DID NOT pick up tissues, toilet paper or wet wipes because… bodily fluid.  I picked up an empty condom box and wrapper but fortunately not a used one! O_O  Even a beer bottle sigh  How people can put their lives in danger like that is beyond me but then again, people do drink and drive.  There was a couple of 100% environmentally friendly coffee cups from the Table Mountain restaurant and picked those up too as its still ugly litter.

The mist was coming up and views of the city was intermittent but I was loving my solo hike despite the litter, despite my sore knee and eventually checked out at 10:08am J

mist clearing
mist clearing

Until my next hike, ciao for now.

Solo Platteklip Hike

Leave a Reply

