I gots the flu but hiked anyway…

When we did the 5 day Outeniqua hike, one of the ladies started out sick and ended the hike healthy and another lady hiked in the Fast, in the middle of winter recovering from the flu, so I thought what the hey, I can too!

Armed with a half a box of tissues (ok I’m exaggerating, it was only a few) plus my cough meds, flutstat (I finished a dose of Corenza C) and my buff, my brother, my almost 7 year old nephew and myself made our way to Rhodes Memorial to do a hike with a little bit of scrambling/rock climbing. After we did Lion’s Head via Wally’s Cave a few short weeks back, I know from experience that he gets bored if there isn’t a bit of a challenge. Adrenalin junkie in the making…

Flu garb
Flu garb

We get my hiking club at the start of the hike and knew I was going to be scolded as I haven’t hiked with them in a while but my chairman knew why…Zee messaged me last night but this is a hike I cannot cancel so she did a solo Platteklip hike.

I check in with Mountain Tracking and Safety at about 7:30am and my nephew started out all excited and we didn’t even reach the contour path yet when he asked ‘how high are we going’ in other words, ‘are we there yet’ aka I’m bored lol.

Are we there yet?!
Are we there yet?!

My brother was huffing and puffing so instead of taking the shortcut up to the blockhouse, we took the mountain bike trail and get to take a photo of one of the monuments erected in 1893 which we normally bypass and forget that its actually there.

1893 monument
1893 monument

We can also see the club going up the first of the scrambles and thought this was the last we saw of them but half way up, we get my chairman and another lady who has a phobia for heights so he was bringing her down to us. He did message me but my phone is on vibrate when I hike. This is me and my mountain time after all.

Meester Chairman
Meester Chairman

We start our scramble and now my nephew is excited and keep on having to tell him to ‘slow down! Wait for your dad!’ The height is not even bothering him, going up that is…

waiting for dad
waiting for dad

We reach the Old Fire Lookout and get hikers from KwaZulu Natal, Mozambique and Kenya but they didn’t seem very chatty or I would’ve still asked them if they were studying or holidaying or working here.

Not your friendly tourists
Not your friendly tourists

As we make the turn above the lookout, the wind picks up and jackets go back on. Its photos and breakfast time! My brother with his healthy snacks and me with koesiesters and pumpkin bollas lol.

Breakfast!
Breakfast!

It must’ve have been weird when other hikers passed us and me looking like a ‘terrorist’ but explained that I have the flu so keeping my germs to myself. When the wind wasn’t blowing all up in my face, I did lower my buff to breath in the fresh mountain air 😀 which is the best medicine!

It's getting cold in here
It’s getting cold in here

Going down was excruciatingly slow. Now my nephew was scared with legs quivering but fortunately for him, he has his experienced aunt to guide him foot by foot. Again I am reminded that just a few short years back, I was the one in need of foot by foot guidance and it was this very trail that I froze and was ‘forbidden’ from doing scramble hikes

foot by foot
foot by foot

Back at the cannons we take a short break for my brother to answer his phone which rang quite a few times and it’s also a must to have a photo taken on the cannon hehe.

Cannon dated 1792
Cannon dated 1792

Sounding like a stuck tape recorder, I keep having to tell my nephew take it slow, don’t take big steps, the sand is loose on the rocks and slippery but only after his 5th slip and slide did he listen to me. I also took a fall when I was looking at the view instead of where I was stepping so my nephew had a good laugh.

the View!
the View!

We check out at 10:45am and the lady with the phobia for heights make her way to the restaurant to wait on the club and we make our way home as we need to welcome my eldest nephew and wife home from their Umrah trip. I stayed till about 15:30 hearing only part of the journey as I am now exhausted. I ran a little errand and when I eventually get home, I pass out until just before 9pm! Instead of having the flu, I can now say that I’m recovering from the flu

Until my next hike, ciao for now.

I gots the flu but hiked anyway…

Leave a Reply

