3 Firs

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve last hiked with the club and it wasn’t my intention to hike with them today as I was going to hike with another club but that’s a story for another blog post and I need to hurry with this one as we are scheduled for load shedding at 8pm..8..p..m…on…a…Sunday…night.. :/  Welcome to South Africa, enjoy your stay… I had a wonderful spiritual experience in mosque last night (an Islamic holy night) and the guest speaker was inspiring so was in a pretty good mood this morning and how else would we want to start our day.  My morning went according to plan (no delays) and what a beautiful morning it was as well, even with the bit of chill in the air. It was great to see faces we haven’t seen in a while and just had to take obligatory sunrise pics, which is a reminder why I love my city so much!

Sunrise
Sunrise

The club seemed to have grown these last few weeks and 19 of us started at Kloof Corner, going along the pipe track to the start of 3 Firs which is just past Woody Ravine.  There are some road works happening somewhere along Theresa Avenue and to avoid the complicated detours, started at Kloof Corner car park instead.  This is a short hike so didn’t mind the extra extra long walk.  The only thing is that the last few weeks I’ve been doing easy hikes, nursing an injured knee plus the flu last week so not hiking club fit and to me they seemed to be in a hurry!  Slow down guys!  The mountain is not going anywhere!   Needless to say, I was at the back most of the hike and at times last as I had to take pics as well J

Yeah, I'm dead last...
Yeah, I’m dead last…
because I was taking pics of these..
because I was taking pics of these..
and this tree..amongst other fauna and flora
and this tree..amongst other fauna and flora

I didn’t mind though as I had a bit of quiet time just taking in the awesome sights and smells and basking in just how happy and contented I am and grateful for all the experiences I had during my unemployed journey which has come to an end.  These quiet moments breathing in fresh mountain air gives one chance just to reflect on life and reconnect with one’s self and I am at peace Jc We had a hiker who struggled up so waited on him at times and we didn’t mind as we were all first time hikers at some point in our lives so know that the struggle is very real and we got to enjoy the scenery and each other’s company as jokes were made and singing broke out lol (and it gave me a chance to rest a bit but we won’t talk about that hehe)

hahahahehehehaaaaa time
hahahahehehehaaaaa time

We finally reached the top to stunning panoramic views with the ocean on one side and Constantia mountain ranges on the other seeing as far as Muizenberg.  After hiking 6 years (and counting) I still can’t explain my deep connection to the mountains and after seeing the same scenery countless times, I am still in awe by its beauty. DSC_3598 Anyway we had a quick brekkie feast of various delicious delicacies and even my koesiesters tasted way better than usual (even if I say so myself) and as some of us were now in a hurry with afternoon commitments, I rushed down with my mountain bestie, Wade.  He being my mountain bestie because on a previous hike he thought I was 29 years old and I was quite flattered by his reaction when he nearly fell of the rock he was sitting on when I revealed that I am actually 39!  😀

bestie!
bestie!

Along the pipe track, bestie decided to run a bit and of course I couldn’t keep up!  Hello! he is 10 years my junior!  I had 5 hours sleep plus I’m unfit and not exactly eating the healthiest of foods!  Anyway I tried but he was gentleman enough to wait on me when I had to rest a few times J As much as the mountain gives us, the mountain takes as well.  A hiker has been missing since Tuesday and Search and Rescue have been looking for him every day.  His car was found at Theresa Avenue but there’s been no other clue as to his whereabouts.  This is why having your hikes tracked by Mountain Safety and Tracking is of vital importance because if something does go wrong (God forbid), they would have some sort of idea where to search and rescues would be quicker. We pray that he is found and ease the loved ones worries as the not knowing is the worst. It just occurred to me that I forgot to have supper. Until my next hike, ciao for now…

3 Firs

Leave a Reply

