Pimple Traverse

Names like these makes one wonder who comes with naming some of the routes. Why Pimple??? Before the details were posted by the Chairman, I have never heard of this route. Today’s rain dictated whether or not we would take this route as the Traverse is quite dangerous and even more so when wet and slippery.

Traversing
Traversing

As we were driving to the start point, I needed to use the ladies but knew that the restaurant had a toilet I could use but lo and behold! The loo was broken and the plumber hadn’t pitched to fix it yet. I had to find a bush! It’s a pretty open area but took my chances behind a tree lol

We were an intimate group of 9 today as the rain keeps many hikers warm in their bed but hiking in the rain is another type of awesome but even better if you have the necessary waterproof gear. My boots are unfortunately not waterproof but it didn’t get too soaked but my pants soon looked ideal for a washing powder advert :/

The phone I’m currently using is not waterproof so had to remind myself not to take pics in the little rain we did get.

The route starts at Suikerbossie and a little way up Llandudno Ravine and turning left off the path at the staples. Going up this path we have spectacular views of Hout Bay, Sandy bay and up till the Shipwreck and as we go around the bend, we can see all along the 12 Apostles, Table Mountain and Lions Head.

Little Lion's head
Little Lion’s head
The 'real' Lion's Head
The ‘real’ Lion’s Head

Along the Traverse, we see 2 Tahrs (Mountain goats) and I think this is where they sleep as we came across hundreds and hundreds of their pellets along this route.

2 Tahrs
2 Tahrs

I can’t remember when there was a fire as there were lots of fynbos going through re-growth with black and green shrubs which made for pretty pictures. I took 100 photos today (excluding the blurry out of focus touch sensitive (phone) ones)

Green and Black contrast
Green and Black contrast

We reached the overhang and had a quick breakfast when I realized I lost my rain cover! x_x as it is a little used path, it is overgrown and I got caught in shrubs and twigs and stuff several times not knowing where I lost the thing sigh.

breakfast
breakfast

Now we make our way to Victoria Gulley (didn’t hear of this route before today) and it was touch and go as we do not know this path at all and is even more overgrown with no clear path at certain places. We can only hold onto the rocks and shrubs for dear life as we cross over ferns with edges like blades. (twas fun of course). This crossing over and under and around trees, shrubs and rocks along the path was tiring! We were making our way further and further away from the cars which didn’t make sense to me but I guess it was because we had breakfast at the overhang instead of a peak. When we reached the Gulley it didn’t look too bad but geez it was steep! It was also raining now and at first my thighs were protesting but soon I could feel my calves.

Why are you looking down
Why are you looking down
The struggle is real
The struggle is real
Victoria Gulley
Victoria Gulley

With a sigh of relief we reach the top and both sides of the mountain looks alien to me. I did not recognize the beacon but the closer we got to the edge again and saw a familiar formation (which we named Mount Wade), I realized we were at Judas Peak with familiar views in sight. This is where Bestie was struggling to take panoramic photos so I took it for him. (My hands are that steady hehe)

panoramic view
panoramic view

About ¾ of the way down I leave the group (what’s left of us as the faster hikers were long gone haha) and solo at my own pace as the slower I go, the more strain on my knees and legs and got a bit of me time. We didn’t get any other hikers on the mountain but did pass 2 couples when I was nearly at the cars. I had a set of dry clothes in the car but silly me didn’t think to ask Anwar for the keys so had to sit and wait. My toes were frozen! My pants were wet and as my body was cooling down, I started shivering. Fortunately I didn’t have to wait long.

Omo ad?
Omo ad?

20150531_131416

All I wanted now was a hot shower and a nap but Anwar had other ideas. He needed to buy lunch first and it was a long wait but he was quite hospitable to buy us lunch as well in addition to much needed coffee! We had lunch at his place and only got home just after 5pm as I bluetoothed a 471meg file to Naz lol. This actually took about 2 hours.

How could I forget about the Lillies!
How could I forget about the Lillies!

Today’s hike had a little bit of everything. Scrambling, rain, traversing, A LOT of laughter, A LOT of crap talk (polite version) lol and a new path which I always absolutely love!

I pray that I will still be strong, fit and healthy to be able to hike well into my 80s and ask you to pray with me please 😀

Until my next hike, ciao for now

Pimple Traverse

Leave a Reply

