Sunrise at Rhodes with a Solo Platteklip Gorge

I belong to a group on Facebook where I share my Blogposts and the ladies were keen on hiking so before the Fast, the administrator created an event for the 26th July and I posted the details for the hike. Rhodes to Blockhouse, easy peasy max 2 hour hike with stunning weather predicted for awesome views…

Sunrise at Rhodes
Sunrise at Rhodes

I’m at the parking lot at 7:30 to start at 7:45 and no-one pitched. I took some sunrise photos and as Rhodes is not to be done solo due to muggings, I rather drove to Platties.

Due to family commitments, my hiking time is still restricted and I am still exhausted. It was my mom aka the patient’s 70th birthday the day prior and we had a surprise ‘party’ with all her kids and most of her grandkids.  I told my dad that my mom needs to get out of the house for a change and as the weather was going to be great, he should take her for a drive the next day 😀 (so that I could sleep lol)

brought the party to the patient
brought the party to the patient

I arrive at Platties at 8:15 and check in with Mountain Tracking and Safety with an ETA of 10:30. I was not even thinking of achieving a new Personal Best (1h20m – up & down). I was just going to take it easy, enjoy the hike and break in my new boots 😀 which is quite comfortable and light compared to my broken pair. I am amazed by the grip on the wet, sandy rocks and I am very pleased with my gift 😀

testing out how waterproof these boots really are
testing out how waterproof these boots really are
gotto love the rains, by summer this will be dry
gotto love the rains, by summer this will be dry

Not long into the hike, my thighs were protesting already so can expect my legs to be sore by tomorrow (Tuesday – my lazy muscle syndrome always kicks in 48 hours later lol). I stopped several times to take photos, sip on water and just to get my breathing back to normal sigh and it was HOT!

path deteriorating which I sent to mountain safety
path deteriorating which I sent to mountain safety

Seems that there are several new paths appearing as people venture off the normal path and the rains eroding the path as well.

come summer, this will be dry
come summer, this will be dry

I caught up with another hiker I know, chatted a little at her pace, left her, caught up with other hikers, chatted a bit and then passed them as well. I finally reached the top of Platties at 9:28, plop down on a rock, took some photos and had some coffee. The other two ladies reached the top and offered them koesiesters and shortly made their way to the cable car.

Aunty Neesha and Mymuna
Aunty Neesha and Mymuna

Another guy I passed also had a koesiester and sat with me a bit and he got to take photos of me hehe and showed me how to take photo bursts lolz

"I have the Sun in my Hand"
“I have the Sun in my Hand”

I offered koesiesters to everyone reaching the top with most declining. Sheesh, healthy freaks.

I notify Tracking that I am making way down at 9:45 when the other lady reached the top and offered her as well, took a selfie and then my phone rang.

Selfie with Aunty Mariam
Selfie with Aunty Mariam

The Administrator of the Facebook group apologising as her daughter pulled her phone off charge the night before so her battery was dead.

About ¼ of the way down, a lady asked me if my name is Fatima and I said yes with a questioning expression on my face….Her husband belongs to Mountain tracking as well and he told her that I passed her at 8:22 hehe. Gave her the rest of my koesiesters 😀

Down I go with very tired legs and its actually starting to shake now lolz so slowed my pace. I get another hiker and chatted to him, then another and chatted, then another two and chatted then another 1 and chatted and another 2 and chatted that I only eventually reached the car at 10:45!

It was like tourist peak season on Tafelberg Road! I was behind a tour bus which had to reverse for another tour bus O_o and patience was the order of the day as it took me 15min just to get off Tafelberg Road sigh and because the weather was absolutely gorgeous, it seemed that the whole of Cape Town came out to play in the sun with traffic driving me mental on a Sunday morning sheesh.

"one-timers" chaos on Tafelberg Road
“one-timers” chaos on Tafelberg Road

I eventually get home at 11:30 and start with lunch. Dusted, swept and mopped the lounge. Same for my mom’s room. I give her a bucket bath. We have lunch, helped my mom to and into the car so off they went! YAY 😀 except the rest of the house still had to be cleaned and the kitchen looked like we just had a party in there sigh.

Anyway, clean my room, scrub the shower and toilet (ON A SUNDAY AFTERNOON!), cleaned bathroom and lobby as I’m waiting for the floor to dry, I tackle the kitchen with breakfast and lunch dishes and pots etc to be washed. Last was to sweep and mop and then I could take shower (note that I didn’t take a shower after my 2.5 hour hard hike but fortunately breathable clothes don’t make stinky sweat hehe)

15:40 I could finally shower…so exhausted… too exhausted to fall asleep…by 5 I gave up as it was too late for an afternoon nap anyway and my parents came home so had to see to their needs. Got my daughter to GHD my hair (in her way) and the struggle to stay awake was very real. I pick up my son shortly before 8pm and I wish I could say that I passed out as soon as my head hit the pillow at 8:30pm but I took a while before falling asleep.

8.5 hours sleep was not enough as I am still tired and cranky with exhaustion

Sigh

Until my next hike, ciao for now.

Sunrise at Rhodes with a Solo Platteklip Gorge

Leave a Reply

