Blue Moon Hike with Ommiedraai

Once in a Blue Moon, I will hike with Ommiedraai Hiking Friends (actually it’s only my second time but I wanted to mention the phrase hehe) and I owe Ommies a hike because some time ago, the condition that I got a member to buy a particular mug for me in Langebaan, was to hike with them again…

Nashita the delivery girl
Nashita the delivery girl

So in the week, Ommies posted that they will be doing this hike and I wanted to go but it’s at 6:30pm and that is difficult for me as its come from work, see to it that my kids have supper and in addition, the Patient and my father’s needs.

Lion's Head looking all sexy just after sunset
Lion’s Head looking all sexy just after sunset

Few weeks ago, my brother planned to spend his birthday in Hermanus and my kids and I was to go with.  With my mom fracturing her ankle and bedridden for 6 weeks and all housework etc has been left to me, I could no longer go as the house needs to be cleaned and laundry to be done (we don’t have an automatic but a twin-tub so it’s not just a matter of throwing a load into the washing machine)

city night lights
city night lights

With my parents now gone to Hermanus, I had time to do this hike but not before they left just before 6 which meant that I had to rush to get to Kloof Corner.  I get there at 6:30 but there was no one around and phoned the hike leader and he said that they started already so my daughter and I caught up with them but not before checking in with Mountain Tracking and Safety.

Whats a blue moon hike without a selfie
Whats a blue moon hike without a selfie

This hike was more about taking photos with the city lights, Lion’s Head looking spectacular and of course, the Blue Moon (which wasn’t blue but I won’t get into the science of it). It was walk a few steps, take pics, walk a few steps, take pics and kept having to catch up with my daughter as she didn’t wait on me.

Ommie hikers
Ommie hikers

We passed the Ommies group and waited for the moon to rise above Devil’s Peak and took more photos and a video and of course selfies ^_^  When Ommies caught up with us, they were actually a bigger group who started earlier and we chatted and laughed and just had a great time.  As one of the members writes ‘The Wrap’  (old school blog which he emails on a weekly basis) I will leave the finer details for him as he is extremely funny with his anecdotes 😀 (and take better pics with his real camera)

me daughter on a rock
me daughter on a rock

At 8pm we start to make our way down and reach the car at 8:25 and as nature was calling, we could not wait on the rest of the group so off we went!

coz i like this pic
coz i like this pic

Short blog but as I mentioned above, this hike was more about the photos than the actual hike.

coz i love this photo
coz i love this photo

Until my next hike, ciao for now.

Blue Moon Hike with Ommiedraai

Leave a Reply

