Minor Peak -> Devil’s Peak with a detour to Woodstock Cave

First off!  I just wana say what an awesome, exhilarating and breathtaking hike this is on a clear day! (for a change as I’ve done Minor Peak several times during the rain or heavy mist.  This is was the first time that I go to Devil’s Peak from this route though and OMG! The views!  I took about 180 photos but deleted the duplicates.

And it’s spring!  the colourful flowers, the mountain roaches, the birds and the bees together with the lizards are all coming out!

Prior to sunrise
Prior to sunrise

Few years ago, when I did Minor Peak (when I still had a phobia for heights), I froze.  My legs were like jelly and I wanted to cry in fear.  If I didn’t have the fantastic assistance on the day (had to close my eyes while to others helped me down step by step down a certain path), I would have had to be airlifted out. Yikes! I was understandably forbidden to do any scramble hikes thereafter.

Just a coupla meters sheer drop
Just a coupla meters sheer drop

Lucky for me, I overcame my phobia and have done several ‘extreme’ hikes since then 😀

We were to meet at 7am for a 7:15am start and as it was prior to sunrise, I could get some stunning photos before meeting with the others at Rhodes car park.  Other’s being only 4.  The ones who are normally early, was late hehe so 11 of us only started at 7:40am.  It was cold!

Views are so distracting!
Views are so distracting!

After the normal Saturday stuff plus housecleaning, extra laundry and making today’s lunch (yesterday), I was only done at about 7:30pm so am exhausted.  I start out slow but once we get to the contour path (It was hot!), I was with the faster hikers.  Odd, since I haven’t hiked with the club in 2 months so definitely not at their fitness level.  Going up to King’s Blockhouse, my thigh muscles were complaining and I struggled up the short path.  It was even harder going up to the Old Lookout where we thankfully had a short refreshment stop and snack coz I was starving by then.  Off we go to Minor Peak and I’m still with the faster hikers…I thought we were going to have breakfast at Minor Peak but was told that we still going up to Devil’s Peak.  Yikes!  This is quite a steep route and I felt my old Hiddingh-Ascencion-Rock-Falling-On-My-Hip injury so pressed down on my hip as I was going up and sheesh the wind was cold and dry that I had to cover my nose which was burning at this stage.  At one turn, the wind was icy cold!  Take another turn and it’s hot again -_-

Minor Peak/Knife's Edge...we crossed this
Minor Peak/Knife’s Edge…we crossed this

We get to Devil’s Peak shortly after 10am and met up with 2 Russians who get to have Cape Malay koesiesters which they thoroughly enjoyed.  It was breakfast time and Shaheen was eating this very busy sandwich (if a lot is happening, I say it’s busy) She offered a slice which I go share with Anwar and OMG!  OMG! People!  It was damn awesome!  When I have something utterly delicious, I will tear up and Anwar and I were both OMG with foodgasms!  She makes this herself!

This Sandwich man!
This Sandwich man!

After compulsory view pics and panoramic view pics, we start to make our way down just after 10:30am and take the Oppelskop route back to Rhodes. This is when the faster hikers are always in a hurry to get down and see the last of them.  I delay 5 of us with my photos so the rest of the group was also long gone and during this time, I tell Anwar that I have never been to Woodstock Caves as it’s just too easy hehe We can incorporate it with another hike.  The closer we got to the cave, Anwar says, come we go and as it was only 12pm, I say hellz yeah!  Off we go and get two other hikes and geez but the cave is actually cavernous!  There’s a waterfall and I get to test out my M4 aqua directly under the water as Sony boasts that this phone can take pics under-water 😀

Rashaad photobombing my panoramic
Rashaad photobombing my panoramic

Get into the cave and OMG!  It stinks!  Of urine!  I’m now, been there, done that, got the smell so don’t have to do this cave again.

directly under the waterfall
directly under the waterfall
Cavernous cave
Cavernous cave

I am also now completely soaked and in need of sun to dry off and the contour path is a long one to the cars.  I’m ahead with another hiker and he wanted to wait on the others at the blockhouse but I couldn’t stand still as I was cold and the breeze was chilly as well.  When we got to the gate (the path going to Newlands) it looked like 4pm but it was only 12:45 and said we will be down at the cars by 1pm.  I basically ran down and was at the cars by 12:55 hehe

how cute is this pole
how cute is this pole

I was supposed to be alone at home and thought I would sleep the afternoon away but the teenagers had other plans so had to fry off a couple of rootis.  My son got to do the dishes though and as I had such an exhilarating hike with a refreshing waterfall, I’m not at all sleepy hehe. Although my back is sore and I just know that lactic acid is going to kick in on Tuesday and be walking like a penguin 😛

Proteas are coming
Proteas are coming

Until my next hike, ciao for now.

PS…whilst writing this blog and uploading album to facebook, my leg started cramping!

Minor Peak -> Devil’s Peak with a detour to Woodstock Cave

2 thoughts on “Minor Peak -> Devil’s Peak with a detour to Woodstock Cave

Leave a Reply

