Jonkershoek Waterfalls

It’s not often that the club does easy peasy hikes but when they do, you must know, it’s going to be awesome! I had the honoured pleasure when my blog follower decided to join us 😀

While most women opted to have breakfast in bed on Woman’s Day, I opted to be up at 4:30am in order to be at my lift by 6am to meet at the Engen garage on the N1 at 6:30am.

my day on Saturday and why i'm always tired
my day on Saturday and why i’m always tired

We arrive at the garage shortly after 6:30am, go to the ladies, ablutions are taken, morning prayers are done. Introductions are given and most of the hardcore hikers who thrives on hard hikes preferred to do their own thing. The Saturday group who only does easy hikes joined us.

Before leaving the garage shortly after 7am, ladies are needed again plus petrol was thrown in the car and as the rest of the group did not wait on us, they drove past the turn-off so we waited on them to turn around hehe.

Sunrise while waiting for the rest of the group
Sunrise while waiting for the rest of the group

We arrive at Jonkershoek shortly before 8am and the ladies are needed again! It’s a loooooong very bumpy ride to the waterfalls which really tested the shocks of the vehicles and get there around 8:30am. Along the way, the first thing I noticed was that this mountain ranges are afflicted with fires every few years with areas at different stages of regeneration so a huge shout out to Volunteer Wildfire Services, Working on Fire and our dedicated Firepersons.   See https://myhikingmylife.wordpress.com/2015/03/08/supporting-our-heroes/

Various stages of regeneration
Various stages of regeneration

Again! I am in need of the ladies and 19 of us (kids included) start hiking around 8:50am and as it’s an easy route, I was leading the way with bestie in tow. (He’s my bestie because he thought I was 10 years younger than I really am hehe and his reaction to my true age was classic)

Nature called
Nature called

I see the first waterfall from the path and wait on Anwar to ask him if we are going there or the second one and he tells me we have enough time to go there as well so off we went and it was breathtakingly beautiful!

First Waterfall
First Waterfall

We spent some time there taking photos and a ‘quick’ snack and as I got slightly wet taking photos whilst water was dripping on me, I was cold so decided to carry on with bestie in tow as he was wearing summer clothes! It was just the two of us most of the way taking in the scenery, taking lots of photos (comparing picture quality of our phones :p him with an iPhone and me with a Sony M4 aqua ) and seriously people, if you are only going to hike once in our life, this is the route to choose.

M4 Aqua picture quality
M4 Aqua picture quality
M4 Aqua quality
M4 Aqua quality

As we are going along the only uphill path, each step is a wider view and I stop in shock! OMG! I had a viewgasm! A waterfall from a peak and a few pics ensued, with selfies as well of course.

Viewgasm!
Viewgasm!

Before going down to check out a rock pool, the only teenager in the group caught up with us and promptly declared ‘do you know what I’ve been through to catch up?!’

Rockpool
Rockpool

More photos and up we go to find the peak waterfall.We get to the breakfast spot but it’s nowhere near where we want to be so decided to go up a muddy treacherous path. It traverses and our hopes are slightly fading as the path becomes more and more dangerous. We finally abort the mission as we would have had to cross a sheer drop holding onto vegetation and I was not about to take that chance with teenager in tow. We make our slow descent hearing the rest of the group at the breakfast spot and basically go down on my buttocks as if teenager should slip, he would slip on me and I would break both our fall.

Below The Waterfall
Below The Waterfall

The bestest bolla lady said that she went to the waterfall criss-crossing the stream so told bestie, lets go! With teenager in tow and another man following shortly thereafter. Gave my waterproof boots a run for their money hehe

because water is wet
because water is wet

We reach a waterfall but not THE Waterfall and it seems inaccessible from here as well. Oh well, we make the most of what’s in front of us and more photos are taken 😀

Bestie and I
Bestie and I

We go back to the group and had breakfast of various delicacies and the kids enjoying the streams getting wet.

Happy families, happy kids
Happy families, happy kids

Bestie had other plans so decided to go back to the cars alone with another family joining him.

Well that branch was just hanging there...with a photobomb ai
Well that branch was just hanging there…with a photobomb ai

We only left about 12:15 and my intention was to stay with the group but my good intentions didn’t last long as I passed them and had some alone time, reflecting on life, shedding a tear for the beauty surrounding me and being grateful for my health and strength my Creator has given me. And taking more photos of course. I reach the cars about 1pm and it’s very cold when the sun’s behind the clouds and warm when it’s not hehe. The rest are all back by 2pm and say our farewells.

Blog Follower :D
Blog Follower 😀

There are quite a few routes in this area with one 17km Panoramic view hike I would love to do next! The hardest part of writing this blog is choosing which ones of my 200 photos to upload!

Tree!
Tree!

Thank you Hikers Paradise Hiking Club for all my adventures with you and hope to have hundreds more!

Until my next hike, ciao for now and thank you for reading J

Jonkershoek Waterfalls

Leave a Reply

