Els Buttress

I wasn’t going to hike on Sunday as I had/have Eid prep to do but ‘The Mountain is calling and I must go’ by John Muir….google some of his quotes…I get all warm and fuzzy inside as I can relate…and so many other hikers I’m sure…

Els Buttress has a few tricky scrambles…no biggie, we’ve done this route a few times before so 8 of us started at Newlands car park at 6:45am with an ETA of 12pm

mountain water was running very clear on Sunday
mountain water was running very clear on Sunday

I am exhausted!  I’m yawning all the way along the contour path until we get to the start of Newlands Ravine and I struggle!  At this point I’m questioning my sanity.  ‘Fatima! Why are you doing a hard hike after spring-cleaning plus window washing plus going to a birthday party the night before and going to sleep after midnight to be up at 4:45am???  Then after the hike you have to go grocery shopping plus bake Eid biscuits!  What is wrong with you huh?!  And now you are struggling…your own damn fault’ …ah yes conversations with myself ^_^

got into an awkward position to take this pic
got into an awkward position to take this pic

Anyway, we are hiking at our own pace and oddly enough, whenever I am exhausted, I tend to push myself so end up with the faster hikers lolz…yes indeed, this chick be cray cray!  So wait on the rest of the group at the Els Buttress turn-off and oh yes sigh all conversations revolves around the Rugby match between South Africa and Japan and I just roll my eyes – I ain’t no Rugby fan so meh! Memes galore!

waiting...
waiting…

I’m now leading the way up to the first scramble and Shamil goes up first in order to help the rest of us and he warns ‘don’t touch this rock, it’s loose’  YAH SHAMIL!  JUST THE WORDS WE WANT TO HEAR GOING UP SCRAMBLES!!!

sshhhhhhhh!!!!!!
sshhhhhhhh!!!!!!

So it’s my turn and I’m ok until I get to the loose bloody rock and I’m shaking in fear…not out of fear of falling, not out of fear heights but NO!  I am so bloody scared that if I touch that rock, it’s going to go tumbling down!  Is there such a thing as phobia for not stable rocks?! I don’t know how to climb at this point as the rock would’ve given that added stability and we probably used that rock on previous occasions but crap man!  I had to find finger and foot holes around this damn rock without even breathing on it O_O  but I do eventually manage to get up and over with the guidance of the rest of the group so yah…that was not pleasant at all!

breathe Fatima breathe!
breathe Fatima breathe! photo cred to Luke

John comes up next and he is shaking as well and let me tell you, John is an yster hey…despite his injuries and plates in his ribs and legs and goodness knows where else (oh pun lol ironman) he surfed the day before…so if John has that fear in him as well then you must know that the struggle is very real!  BTW, we met John on Kloof Corner Ridge at the 2nd chain when he decided that he would join us ^_^

John and his fellow hikers in Feb 2015
John and his fellow hikers in Feb 2015

As Shamil is climbing, he steps on a safe loose rock and the sound of rock knocking against rock makes my heart race!  O_O  I had to have a few minutes to myself and compose as I’m upset that this is my 3rd scramble and still have that fear in me!  Even worse!  Blinkwater wasn’t even a scramble hike -_- how you like them apples…. (Or rather we didn’t get to the itty bitty teeny tiny scramble part) How long is it going to take?!  I know we have to face our fear to get over our fear but yarre man can’t I just move on already?!

Anyway its onwards and upwards with no more fear inducing moments up the rest of the scrambles and all is well with the world again as I take in the smells and sounds of the gloriously fresh mountain air and the weather is perfect!  Not hot neither cold and still go OCD on photos lolz.

Newlands Ravine looking like Platties
Newlands Ravine looking like Platties

Its breakfast time and I find a chill spot and boy oh boy I could stay there whole day!  Sooooo comfy with spectacular views!  But no-one else was in the same frame of mind as me even though I’m the one with the dreaded baking to do lolz…

I is levitating
I is levitating

so up we go (we have to go up in order to go down x_x)  and my cooled down muscles don’t like this one bit!  We should find a breakfast spot on top but the breakfast spot we always choose is much more sheltered against the elements…also the wind is always strong on top…and down we go to the Ravine and a cloud decided to burst!  Really?!  Guess who doesn’t have her rain-jacket nor spare clothes coz no rain was predicted for Sunday!  I do have an emergency poncho so it’s all good in the hood and noticed that SOME STUPID HIKERS! Or rather casual mountain walkers coz true hikers wouldn’t do such things) Vandalised the mountain with hideous graffiti!!!! (Insert angry emoticon)  Only every leave your carbon footprint behind!  Grrrrrrr!!!!

Grrr
Grrr

So down we go and I can’t go down slow (oh yes it was just Luke, Anwar and myself as the others were long gone when we were still making our way up from Breakfast rock hehe)  so leave them and hike at my own pace and waited for them at the carousal with a bunch of family hikers.  They were then in discussion as to what route to take and we gave them the options with estimated time frames and Anwar offering to take them but they appreciatively declined taking a route they know and we take the shortcut down 😛

DSC_1046

We see blood splatters and follow this and I lose the trail..I’ll make a sucky investigator: /  We are done few minutes before 12pm and made a good time.  There is now a mobile coffee vendor at the car park!  Clever bugger!

blood!
blood!

Until my next hike, ciao for now

PS The cookie gun’s spring or something is worn so the dough not coming out and after 2+ frustrating hours struggling with the Custard Fingers dough! I used swapped dough around!  I used the butter biscuit dough for the Strawberry whirls and only realised this when it was already in the oven…I then made eat-sum-mor out of the shortbread dough meant for the strawberry whirls :/

Sigh

Els Buttress

2 thoughts on “Els Buttress

Leave a Reply

