Pimple Traverse day after Color Run

No, I didn’t run. Even though it was something that I wanted to do, the entry is just too expensive as I would have to pay for my daughter as well. Ommiedraai was looking for volunteers to man the chutes and I was convinced to volunteer together my daughter, sacrificing her Karate class. We were warned that the powder would get into everything and that it did! Staining clothes and skin alike. I think we had more fun than the runners hehe. I could write a blog about yesterday but I’m leaving that for Nazeem Karriem who writes ‘The Wrap’

DSC_1870
some of the purple crew still clean
IMG-20151017-WA0070
Photo cred to Muneeba

DSC_1897 IMG_20151017_145957

So anyway, after the Color Run and all the exhaustion of dancing, running up and down the chute, filling bottles, shooting purple etc, I am exhausted and still had to do the laundry, make koesiesters and lunch for today and I go an twist my knee :/ sighness! I tell a friend about it and he said that I should do Lion’s Head instead and I’m like hell to the no! I’ll just wear a knee guard as I haven’t hiked with the club in a month, I miss them and I needed a hard hike!

first break..hold onto your caps!
first break..hold onto your caps!

I wake up this morning, exhausted with sore shoulders and arms and my knee is fine but still put on the knee guard as precaution. After many delays (45 minutes), 10 of us only start hiking at 06:45 but not before John mentions another scramble route and normally I would jump at the opportunity but I am in no condition to do scrambles. It’s cold at Suikerbossie and going uphill, I start limping and I guess Anwar didn’t notice this because he asked me to lead (insert not impressed emoticon) and for some inexplicable reason, I always tend to push myself when I’m tired so onwards and upwards I go with a gap behind me and the wind is pumping! At the first break, we had to hold onto our caps and Anwar said that the wind is blowing in gusts of 50km/h! We had 2 new ladies who joined us today from the Saturday group and they did very well so they should give themselves a pat on the back. Luke is with me now as we go along the path to Llandadno Ravine taking breaks here and there for the others to catch up. Purple flowers are in abundance! Don’t ask me to name them. If someone told me today, I would’ve forgotten before the end of the hike lolz. I take a tiny detour to the tiny waterfall which will be dry come summer and the others pass me as they didn’t see me there but they are waiting for Anwar and the 2 new ladies and I’m leading again.

purple everywhere!
purple everywhere!

At the Pimple Traverse turn off (at the staples) I wait on the group to catch up and make our way up the steep rarely used path and it’s slippery so it’s a matter of holding onto shrubs. We take the corner and Lion’s Head comes into view so several photos are taken here and now it’s time for the long traverse which is even less used with many obstacles and bushwhacking to be done getting snagged by twigs and pricked by thorns and the last time we did this route, I lost my rain-cover for just this reason.  It was so funny whenever Shaheen was behind me, my lip balm would fall out of my pocket and she would pick it up…this happened quite a few times but when she’s not behind me, my lip balm would stay put haha.

our view!
our view!

While waiting for the others to catch up, I also take the opportunity to answer the call of nature and eventually reach the over-hang where we had breakfast and gratefully rest my knee! Magadie, Nadeema’s brother was an absolute hoot today! He hasn’t hiked in 6 months so all inhibitions were left at the car park lolz. He also gave me some type of oil to rub my knee out and in the position I was standing, not noticing at first, others and by others I mean Anwar, was taking photos of my derriere!

breakfast!
breakfast!
traversing the traverse the struggle is real
traversing the traverse
the struggle is real

Down we go and instinct tells us (me) to traverse when I’m suppose to go further down and make the same mistake we did last time. With no-where else to go, scouting the surroundings, John found the actual path further down and we backtrack a little. I will now remember this for next time lolz. With photo distractions and my knee quite sensitive now, Anwar asks me why I am not leading and tell him it’s fine, I’m done leading lolz and there is only one way along this route and it’s not like they are going to get lost hehe. At an awkward position I go and bloodyville twist my knee again and it was eina! I had no choice but to soldier on and by this time, one of the new ladies tights were being ripped at various places which distracted me from my pain and up another pretty awkward climb but John helped me up. Thank you John!   The faster hikers are in a hurry now and see the last of Nadeema and her brother long before going up Victoria Gulley which is even less used than the Traverse as there is no clear path. I stick with one of the new ladies as she struggles up and with the slow pace; I’m not putting that much strain on my knee.

how cute is this shrub
how cute is this shrub
chill spot
chill spot

We eventually reach the top of the Gulley where the others are taking a break and chatting away and I plop myself down in the bush, giving my knee a break and in my own thoughts, I’m thinking of a snake slithering towards me so decided to go find a comfy rock and have a lie down in the sun. The wind was still strong so wasn’t as delicious as the time up Woody Buttress. I may have dozed off as I didn’t notice the others leaving and they had to call me so off I go limping away. With the right kind of pressure, I can walk quite fine and besides, it’s flat ground.

stuff I found in my pocket...even a stone
stuff I found in my pocket…even a stone

We make our way round Judas Peak towards Llandadno Ravine and I’m ahead now and not seeing John, Shaheema and Shaheen for the rest of the hike. Anwar, Habiba, Madeniya and Luke are behind me but do wait at the staples to guide the newbies down. Their pace is a bit too slow for me as I can’t go down slow despite my discomfort and I’m ahead until I go flippen twist my knee again just past the staples and this time it’s worse and can’t put any pressure on it so just sit there sulking until the rest caught up. SIGH! But do enjoy the view hehe. Now I have to go down and hop along on right leg and when we get to the steps I put on my big girl panties and pass them again and only now realize that it’s less painful keeping my leg straight instead of bending it lolz and this is the way I ‘walk’ for the rest of the way down and I’m not a happy chappy!

this view man!
this view man!

The hike was supposed to be 5 hours but we only reached the car (singular as the others were gone already) just before 2pm. Not entirely my fault though 😛

coz I can't resist this view!
coz I can’t resist this view!

Regardless of my discomfort and pain, I did enjoy the hike as hiking centers my chi 😛 and I needed today as I’m not hiking next week so until my next hike, ciao for now.

thank you responsible dog owner
thank you responsible dog owner

PS – I wrote the blog yesterday but only uploaded pics today, hence the delay in it being published…

coz pretty flowers make for pretty pics
coz pretty flowers make for pretty pics
Pimple Traverse day after Color Run

Leave a Reply

